carmel_communications_small

 

 17-track album from Benedictines of Mary in stores/online today

 Atlanta, GA, May 7, 2013 – The awe-inspiring music of ANGELS AND SAINTS AT EPHESUS, the highly anticipated CD from the Benedictines of Mary, Queen of Apostles, is available today from De Montfort Music/Decca.

This follow-up to last year’s number one hit ADVENT AT EPHESUS is a year-round collection featuring 17 English and Latin pieces sung a cappella for the feasts of the holy Saints and angels. Recorded once again at their Priory in the heartland of America, this new album, also available for digital download, is a dynamic yet pure fusion of their contemplative sound.

“We are truly excited that ANGELS AND SAINTS AT EPHESUS is available today,” De Montfort Music co-founder Monica Fitzgibbons said.  “This is a classic must-have recording for any collection of music, and an opportunity to experience the Heavenly sounds emanating from these holy hearts of the Benedictines of Mary whose singing sparks a heightened sense of the True and the Beautiful.”

De Montfort enlisted nine-time International Grammy® winning producer Christopher Alder, from Germany, and two-time Grammy® winning engineer Mark Donahue to capture the Sisters in their contemplative environment.

“I was surprised by how well [the sisters] sang,” Alder said. “I was already convinced that the quality of their singing was high, so I would enjoy myself musically. … The main feeling to listening to them is the belief in the thoughts that are being expressed and a familiarity and love of the style of music.”

Check out a visual sneak peek of the album: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tMF04ErFVaE.

This is the second album from the Benedictines of Mary. Last November and December, the Sisters’ debut album, ADVENT AT EPHESUS, with De Montfort Music/Decca, spent six weeks at #1 on Billboard’s Classical Music Chart, and the Sisters ended up as the #1 Classical Traditional Artist of 2012, according to Nielson’s Soundscan. Featured on NPR, USA Today, People Magazine and The Washington Times as well as countless other critically acclaimed press outlets, the Benedictines of Mary have created another beautiful recording of their music.

30-minute behind-the-scenes special to air this week

EWTN – the Eternal Word Television Network – has announced multiple broadcasts of a 30-minute special on the Benedictines of Mary, Queen of Apostles, and the making of ANGELS AND SAINTS AT EPHESUS, which is available now worldwide from De Montfort Music and Decca Records.

The special debuts at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT tonight, May 7. Other broadcasts are set for 3:30 a.m. ET/12:30 a.m. PT Wednesday, May 8; 11 p.m. ET/8 p.m. PT Friday, May 24; and 11 a.m. ET/8 a.m. PT Saturday, May 25.

About the Benedictines of Mary, Queen of Apostles

Founded in 1995, The Benedictines of Mary, Queen of Apostles, are a young, monastic order of Sisters. The Sisters sing together eight times a day as they chant the Divine Office in Latin.

About De Montfort Music

De Montfort Music is a division of Aim Higher Media, both founded by music-industry veterans Kevin and Monica Fitzgibbons. Its special mission is to sign, develop, produce and bring to market the very best in Sacred Music.

About DECCA/Universal

Decca Records is part of Universal Music Group (UMG), the world’s largest music content company with market-leading positions in recorded music, music publishing, and merchandising.

Please contact Kevin Wandra (404-788-1276, or KWandra@CarmelCommunications.com) of Carmel Communications for more information or to schedule interviews.

###

Contact

Kevin Wandra
KWandra@CarmelCommunications.com
404-788-1276

Notice

The organizations and/or individuals who submit materials for distribution by Religion News Service are solely responsible for the facts in and accuracy of their materials. Religion News Service will correct any errors brought to its attention.